What follows is an email I recently sent to friends followed by the notes I’ve taken from various talks 🙂

 “Whether we know it or not, we transmit the presence of everyone we have ever known, as though by being in each other’s presence we exchange our cells, pass on some life force and then we go on carrying that other person in our body, not unlike the springtime when certain plants in fields we walk through attach their seeds in the form of small burrs to our socks, our pants, our caps, as if to say, “Go on, take us with you, carry us to root in another place”…This is why it is important who we become, because we pass it on.” – Natalie Goldberg, “Long Quiet Highway”

Tonight was the annual Buddha Purnima (full moon) celebration at Sanskriti Kendra (www.sanskritifoundation.org, one of my most favorite places in Delhi) commemorating the birth anniversary of Lord Buddha. On nights like this I just feel so blessed to be alive and to have met so many special people whose presence I “carry with me.” The above excerpt from Goldberg’s book, “Long Quiet Highway” illustrates an aspect of what not only nonduality but life means to me.  

For some crazy reason the organizers of this very special event asked me to speak about some of my experiences as an educator/dharma practitioner and my attempts (not always successful) to charge the classroom with an “awakening” quality and approach teaching as spiritual practice. I felt pretty ridiculous speaking at such a large and important event because I have such a LONG way to go as both a teacher and a dharma practitioner so I spent most of my time sharing the insights my students had when I led them through a Metta Bhavana practice and that seemed to resonate really well with everyone. Well, if any of you are incredibly bored and have nothing better to do there will be a short interview with me on NDTV at 7, 8, and 9am and 6, 7 and 8pm about incorporating mindfulness and genuineness in the classroom—this is the last things I expected when I left the news industry!  Also, a wonderful artist friend of mine took pictures of the event and I will send them out once I get them. Well, as I was speaking I just felt so happy to have my global, spiritual family and was inspired to send this message to all of you.

Like last year’s blissful celebration this evening dedicated to the dharma was filled with love, hope and joy and it is in the spirit of the Buddha’s birthday that I “pass on” some of the happenings of the past weeks.

What follows are the essence of some of the teachings, talks, themes and experiences of the past two weeks. I have my notes from all of the talks mentioned here and the past few philosophy group sessions available if any of you want them though they may only be discernable to me 🙂

Last week I had the opportunity to hear the 22-year-old Gyalwa Karmapa (you should know there is controversy surrounding the recognition of the 17th Karmapa but the Karmapa I heard speak is recognized by His Holiness the Dalai Lama) speak on “Impermanence” in Tibetan. He was on his way to the United States for the first time and was quite busy preparing for the trip and said he didn’t have time to prepare anything and instead spoke from the heart.  Naturally, a lot was lost in the translation but essentially he discussed how impermanence is not a philosophical concept, it is reality and we must try not to cling to the illusion of the absence of impermanence. We need to address how we fabricate the illusion of permanence. A dear Tibetan Buddhist Nun once told me, “True dharma practice is countering delusion.”  What I gained from the talk was the importance of not feeling burdened or handicapped by impermanence and being prepared to handle impermanence in a constructive way. Obviously all phenomenon are subject to impermanence but to throw our hands up and not act is unwise. For example, to say, “The cyclone in Myanmar is too big, there is nothing I can do” is not the answer. As dharma practitioners we make a resolve to benefit each and every being and not acting would go against that resolve so we must try to do whatever we can and no act is too small—like remembering to turn off the lights!Indulging in the illusion of permanence can also breed laziness and the preciousness of life is diminished with the illusion of permanence. 

The day after I heard the Karmapa speak I had the wonderful opportunity to attend a teaching given by a teacher of Pema Choedron, Dzigar Kongtrul Rinpoche. His lineage is very close to that of Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche.  He is a very high Tibetan lama and talented artist who has been living in Colorado for the last 20 years. He is married to an American woman and has a unique ability to relate to both cultures.  Dzigar Kongtrul Rinpoche talked about how in order for the dharma to be accessible to all it has to employ common sense. If it is complicated and difficult to understand then Truth cannot be accessible and applicable. The Buddhist teachings reveal common sense. So what is dharma and how is it common sense? Well, according to Dzigar Kongtrul Rinpoche all sentient beings desire happiness and dharma is when you acknowledge this to yourself and that you are not different from other sentient beings—we are all the same and we all want to be happy.  So when you add to somebody’s happiness and try to live “I am Thou” then that is dharma, that is virtue. What brings us happiness is doing good in the world and adding to the happiness of many beings. If one’s capacity is to serve 100 and one limits to serve only oneself then they are not giving a full chance to their potential. Since we are no different from sentient beings we should not harm others. He also discussed the importance of practicing the Four Immeasurables (equanimity, love, compassion and joy). 

This past weekend I was having some work done on my apartment which provided me with the opportunity to stay at home and finally watch the keynote address Dr. Robert Svoboda gave at a conference I attended in Rishikesh in late February, “Where Science Meets Consciousness.” I arrived a day late to the conference and missed this amazing talk but was luckily able to get a recording of it. Dr. Svoboda is one of the most engaging speakers I have ever come across. I was first introduced to his work in the Spring of 2005 when I was studying with an Ayurvedic Doctor and have read many of his books. It was an honor to finally meet him! Svoboda discussed how human beings are constantly taken over by delusions all the time and it is vital that we keep our consciousnesses clear.  He mentioned a book I am dying to read, “Extraordinary Popular Delusions and the Madness of Crowds” by Charles Mackay. (I’ll just add it to my exhaustive reading list!) The crazy thing is that the book was written more than 100 years ago but from what Svoboda said so much of it is applicable today, the whole idea of “thought pollution” causing us to move in this herd mentality where we destroy our environment and fellow humans.  According to Svoboda there is no spirituality if you don’t establish a healthy relationship between yourself and the animal, vegetable and mineral kingdom. Awareness in the Indian vidya (knowledge) is that an individual human being is acting as a vessel for universal awareness and the human being is meant to express this awareness and consciousness in the external world.  The danger we face today is that so many of us are divorced from the environment and believe the idea that we are different from the environment. He also discussed how consumerism is a very dangerous mind virus. Essentially, ayurveda and yoga are not separate from the reality of all in the world, they enable us to be better balanced and integrated so we can expand that into the environment. Svoboda also spoke about the importance of having a good relationship with the five elements and only then will prana (life force) flow properly because it is prana that supports life and well-being.Today our consciousness must be alert enough to have the viveka (discrimination) to know when answering the cell phone or checking email is useful and when it is not useful.  It is this awareness that will help us facilitate our lives more effectively.Life is a very useful thing that gives you the opportunity to connect your awareness with the supreme reality from a stable place. The Sanskrit definition of health is to be well established in oneself and this can only occur when the body (doshas) is balanced and mind is happy. When the mind is delusional and body is imbalanced we are nowhere near health and the scary thing is it seems like most people fall into this category. Similarly, in Goenkaji’s address to the United Nations on “Peace” which I also watched when I was having work done on my apartment he talks about how peace in the world is only possible when we are peaceful within. We also make right decisions when our mind is calm and this can only happen when we achieve a state of balance and for me that type of balance can only be cultivated with meditation practice.

A few days ago a dear dharma friend in Delhi sent me a message raising the question of what “right action” means in a natural world in peril by human actions. Last Friday I attended a talk at the Tushita Center given by Professor Anita Sharma of Delhi University. She spoke mostly about Engaged Buddhism (during the past few decades many Buddhist have been re-examining the teachings finding a basis for social action) which I feel is the answer to what “right action” means today. A more inclusive term that my dear dharma friend has come up with is “Social Mindfulness.” Professor Sharma discussed His Holiness the Dalai Lama, Thich Nhat Hanh, Sulak Sivaraska, Master Cheng Yen (Taiwan), Master Hsing Yun (Taiwan), Master Sheng Yen (Taiwan). I actually met Sulak Sivaraska last June at a Spiritual Ecology Conference in London. When I asked him for some practical advice as an educator he said, “I’m going to quote Auden and not the Buddha. A good teacher must be happy.” This is probably one of the best pieces of advice I’ve ever been given!

Professor Sharma focused on the activities of Tzuchi in Taiwan and Sarvodaya (uplift for all) Shramadana Sangamaya in Sri Lanka because the activities of these two organizations are very different. Tzuchi is actually registered as an NGO in Taiwan and it focuses on improving society from within the system through charity activities, international relief work, education (Tzuchi University), bone marrow transplants and preserving the environment (introducing reusable chopsticks). Sarvodaya Shramadana Sangamaya places an emphasis on Buddhist Economics, Local Economy, Gandhianism. According to Sharma, both organizations seek to humanize society and employ the principle of “right livelihood.” I am hoping to visit the Sarvodaya Shramadana Sangamaya next winter in Sri Lanka. Thich Nhat Hanh will be coming to India from September 26th until the end of October and I recently found out at an organizational meeting for his visit that some of his students have purchased land to eventually build a community like “Plum Village” in Dehradun—how exciting! The themes of Thay’s visit are “Dalit Buddhism” and “Mindfulness in Education.” I can’t believe I will get a chance to meet him this Fall! Oh, I just heard from the Center for Bhutan Studies and now the Gross National Happiness Conference is slated for end of October, early November.  As soon as I get details I will pass them along.

Last week the Elementary School Principal sent me an article about a potential guest speaker for a “Peace and Activism” initiative we are trying to launch at the American Embassy School. The words of Elias Chacour, an international peace and reconciliation figure who has devoted himself to the often hard-pressed, long-awaited resolution between Middle Eastern Arabs and Jews exemplifies the essence of what we aim to teach our students.  Chacour says, “Faith does not only mean faith in God. It’s easy to have faith in God. It’s much more difficult to have faith in your neighbor. It’s much more difficult to believe your neighbor is the most beautiful thing God has created, without an inner conviction that you can make a difference in this world…How much do we believe in each other and do we believe in the goodness that is in every human being?” he asks.  I honestly think that the only way the world is going to become a better place is if our thinking evolves to a place of nonduality and it begins with young people. This is why I teach—so students strive to live “I am Thou.” 

What began as a small idea resulting from a random meeting with a very special Lama and an American activist/dharma practitioner while I was in Rishikesh has now resulted in the creation of a K-12 task force committed to promoting efficacy and empathy among our students. I can’t believe all that is happened in the past two weeks—every division principal is on the task force along with some of the most inspiring educators and the most amazing students I’ve come across.  At the end of our last meeting my boss said, “Beyond raising funds let us raise peoples consciousness.” I never expected so many people to come together and start “thinking big.” We have also connected with the Dalai Lama foundation (quite coincidentally) and The Missing Peace Project.

Just two days ago my Superintendent (he also is the one that introduced me to the Natalie Goldberg quote at the top of this email) sent me an email about a 10th grade Social Studies class at the International School of Estonia committed to changing the world by Monday. During their study of human rights abuses these 10th graders were particularly shocked at the today’s crimes being committed by the government in Sudan.  The students read a quote by Steve Jobs, “The people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world are the ones that do.”Given only 7 days, what can one person, one group do to make some changes to make the world better? In one week the students: 1.) Thoroughly researched the conflict in Darfur 2.) Made an exhibit in the assembly area to promote awareness 3.) Collected signatures on a petition to the UN and governments to censor Sudan and to require that Sudan hand over ICC indicted suspects for crimes against humanity. 4.) Met with the ambassadors of Norway, Spain, Portugal, Sweden and the United States to ask questions, raise awareness, and ask the ambassadors to forward the petition to their governments.5.) Made a FACEBOOK entry called “Change the World by Monday.”6.) Raised money and bought a Website entitled: “changetheworldbymonday.com.” I plan on having my students next year join the 52 week campaign (52 schools taking at least one week a year) “to change the world.” 

This time of year is always very sentimental for me because I say goodbye to some very special students and colleagues.  My students continually amaze me and give me hope and my colleagues are a constant source of inspiration. One of my colleagues and fellow dharma practitioners, Lauren Alderfer, has written a book entitled, “Teaching as a Spiritual Practice.” A teacher I studied with once said, “books are only useful if they are made use of in some way, simply reading isn’t good enough” and I have tried to “make use” of Lauren’s book.Sadly, she is leaving my school this year but I feel blessed to have met her and read her book—it has enabled me to integrate my spiritual life and professional life in a very effective, meaningful way. I am incredibly lucky to be able to “carry her in me” as I continue to teach and come in contact with hundreds of students every year.  

Lauren writes: “Cultivating an attitude of inquiry can be the first bold step on a journey. While it may be the first step of a journey, it also keeps the journey alive. Continually desire to know more, discover the unknown, or uncover what lies beneath the surface takes courage. Commitment to the journey of discovery follows. It becomes a life’s journey and we become life long learners on the path.”

I leave for Ladakh in less than 10 days for about a month. Only a few more farewell gatherings to go, there seems to be another every day! I hate goodbyes. I cry at all of these gatherings but I guess it would be worse if I never felt anything but I know I am going to be a wreck at graduation 😦 I have no fixed plans for Ladakh and am just open to whatever adventures may come my way. A special friend lent me a beautiful book “Ancient Futures, Learning From Ladakh” by Helena Norberg-Hodge that she picked up in Dharamsala a few years ago. I started reading it yesterday and literally had to pry myself away from the book.  This morning as I was teaching my ninth graders my boss came to my classroom and gave me a copy of Andrew Harvey’s book on Ladakh. I spent all evening yesterday going to almost every bookstore in Delhi to try and track this book down (it is out of print) and feel so lucky to have gotten a copy of this book! I really want to read it because Harvey is one of the main teachers of the “Activism” course I am taking this summer at Schumacher College and he was born in Tamil Nadu where my ancestors are from! Many of you know I had planned on doing the Kailash Mansarovar yatra this summer but my Tibet plans have been postponed because the Chinese government is not permitting foreign entry. This Tibet disappointment seems to have turned into a blessing in disguise and I look forward to all that awaits me in Ladakh.

Thank you all for your friendship. In our philosophy group a few weeks ago Professor Makarand Paranjpe talked about how humans are communicative beings and it is through the act of communication that we become one, this act is advaita (nonduality). I am so grateful for the meaningful exchanges I’ve had with all of you and feel blessed that the universe has sent you all into my life. It is all of you that keep me going. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Together we can be crazy enough to change the world for the better. Please know that I will be taking you all with me to Ladakh and “carry you to root in another place.”

With Metta and Maitri,

Meena

A few days ago a lovely young woman I met at a yoga conference sent me the following prayer from St. Theresa:

May today there be peace within.

May you trust God that you are exactly where you are meant to be.


May you not forget the infinite possibilities that are born of faith.

May you use those gifts that you have received, and pass on the love that has been given to you.

May you be content knowing you are a child of God.

Let this presence settle into your bones, and allow your soul the freedom to sing, dance, praise and love.

It is there for each and every one of us.

DR. SVOBODA – KEYNOTE ADDRESS NOTES

Vata is not stable

When in India, learn not to listen

Extraordinary popular delusions and the madness of crowds, charles mckay

Human’s beings taken over by delusions all the time and keep our consciousnesses clear so we are not taken over by delusions

When people get enthusiastic about something their awarenesses get dragged along, economic delusions

Science and the akashic field

Morality in science, scientists focus on knowing things just for the use of knowing them regardless of benefit

Like the corpse we will end up without prana at any moment, no regrets

There is no spirituality if you don’t establish a healthy relationship between yourself and the animal, vegetable and mineral kingdom…awareness in the Indian vidya that individual human being is not an individual acting as vessel for universal awareness

The human being meant to express this awareness and consciousness in the external world good report between the external and internal panda brahmanda

The universe will cooperate

Universe not cooperating with us now, ecological awareness of thoughts you put out into the universe is what will come back to you

Modern science believes singularity and from that universe expanded—expansion is matter India—expansion of consciousness

What effect will anything we do have on consciousness dharma is a path worthy to be followed, everybody has their svadharma their own path

Paying attention to become more stimulated not paying attention to how the prana moves in the body

Benares is the most intense place on the planet

I was saved—you never know what could happen

Only when good relationship with 5 elements will prana flow properly

Prana supports life and well being

Getting a hold of shakti is not the problem establishing a relationship with the shakti is the problem

Consciousness to be alert enough to have the viveka to have it functioning as much as possible cell phone is useful and not useful, email, eating

Being able to determine hita hitam sukham know what is useful and not useful to determine what is useful and not useful

What is going to facilitate our life more effectively

Life is a very useful thing gives you the opportunity to connect your awareness with the supreme reality from a stable place

Allows a point of reference, body

Body is that which deteriorates (Sanskrit def) still make use of it while it is deteriorating point of reference that employs the earth element to create stability

No reason not to creat stability within yourself

Disturbance everywhere that is when you feel more stable to generate the earth element

What can we do to make our environment improve

As development approaches and accelerates only a certain amount of land and the development takes over land and more tress are chopped down and removed

Planting trees, get to know tree consciousness

There is an awareness in every living thing

Divorced form the environment divorced from the idea that you and the environment are not different from one another

Direct result of what has to be done to put food into themselves, food is another commodity

Focus when everything is going on, very easy to focus

 

The ability to use consciousness effectively focus the prana

Ray kurtzwail

Encouraging us to be more disconnected to our bodies

Moving away from any rapport between the body and the mind

When doshas (body) are balanced and mind is happy – healthy well established in him or herself

Mind is delusional and body is imbalanced no where near health

Thought pollution that encourages us to move in herd mentality—extraordinary popular delusions. Unuseful direction

More people are not thinking we are influenced, much less awareness of

Ayurveda and yoga are not separate from the reality of all in the world, better balanced and integrated and to expand that into the environment

Ganga is the earthly incarnation of the milky way

The more things you have the less satisfaction, consumerism is a very dangerous mind virus

To take and consume—what effect does this have on a nation

Pursuit of wealth for its own ends is not useful in the long run, it does not follow the dharma

Only way there will be balance in your body is if there is balance with you and the environment

Remain calm…always!

Rasa = juice

When you worship hanuman you worship the prana within and externally

Vignana bhairava, many ways to position consciousness

Books are only useful if they are made use of in some way, simply reading isn’t good enough

Find a way from discouraging your mind from becoming obstructed

Tantric worship is about purifying the 5 elements

Ayurveda, we should have a satisfying experience of life only satisfying for us if it is satisfying for others as well

Darshana, not only means sight but philosophy

Believing is seeing…

We must try to do something, the plant kingdom will support us…long ago they had a conference in the forest, what will we do when everyone moves to the cities, last year more than 50% people in the world live in urban environments. Urban environments are not real, exists because there are other places where food is grown

To encourage human beings to appreciate the fact only through the natural environment that we can maintain ourselves

Knowledge is our impression. Construct of our brains that makes us think we are seeing what we are seeing purpose of allowing us to believe there is a continuity in the experience outside us

Calmness in our prana

If you want your awarenss to move in the direction of relatively encumbered awareness

Move in the direction of reconnecting with external environment, we are not normal any more, how long will we persist if we keep doing things

God willing there will continue to be researchers and scientists

Change your attention to something else—take awareness away from the pathology the pathology loses its vitality

Stupid to pray for anything in yourself…pray for everyone

Practical to turn your attention away from you, better perspective on others than yourself

Putting the awareness on something better

Goenkaji – Inner Peace for World Peace

 

Religion is religion only when it unites

Conversion from misery to happiness, bondage to liberation, cruelty to compassion, impurity of the mind to the purity

Enlightened beings have given a technique for peace

No peace in the individual there cannot be real peace in the world

Observing mind and matter within ourselves

 

Interview

When the mind is confused you make wrong decisions

 Vipassana helps dissolve the ego to help others

 Dzigar Kongtrul Rinpoche , Sunder Nagar May 14th

Tonight I had the wonderful opportunity to attend a teaching given by the teacher of Pema Choedron, Dzigar Kongtrul Rinpoche. His lineage is very close to that of Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche.  He is a very high TIbetan lama who has been living in Colorado for the last 20 years, is married to an American woman and truly straddles both cultures. 

What follows are my notes…

Be contemplative and introspective or be a dynamic source of light

India has shown Tibetans grace…

ysDegeneration of family structure

Buddha Dharma and wisdom…Buddha enabled dharma accessible to all and everyone became encouraged

Common sense, simple reasoning

Common sense cannot be complicated and difficult to understand if it is then truth is not as accessible and applicable

Buddhist teachings revealed common sense, difficult to practice in that way in its reasoning is irrefutable

Once reasoning makes an impression as a truth to oneself that truth cannot be altered and made into something different, dharma or virtue is really more or less common sense

What is dharma and how is it common sense?

We are all sentient beings and we desire happiness all the time…it is with that desire that we reach for our mothers breast

We always wanted happiness, poor, rich, privileged or not one is not different from human beings in this way

Always we exhibited some symptoms of human mind and sentient mind which is a desire for happiness

With that desire we drank milk instead of refusing it

Young or adult, man or woman, all cultures we are no different we continuously carry our lives for desire, for happiness

Dream is shadow of day life

Desire for happiness continues, when we can acknowledge this this is what makes us human and bounds us, this is what makes us living beings—desire

Inatimate objects do not have the desire for happiness

As consciousness this is innate quality we are all the same

Dharma is when you acknowledge this to yourself and you are not different from other sentient beings, we are all the same

One with mind, innate wish for happiness is present

When we can’t acknowledge that on top of that acknowledgement

Add to somebody’s happiness that is dharma, that is virtue, all beings desire happiness

You acknowledge “I am thou” and you help someone in that need of happiness to receive that happiness in their lives that is dharma or virtue

It breeds happiness and satisfaction to someone who longs for satisfaction

That cause is positive virtue, seed that ripens in this life immediate positive feedback and results this is what dharma or virtue is

Verified, someone in their own right of happiness you are able to contribute to the individual

Kind person and generous person executive to the effect

One makes a positive action

Mind is not tangible not destroyed continues in an illusory way happiness is not too far out of reach there has to be a cause to make effects different, causes from previous lives

What is crucial is to do good in the world and add to many peoples and beings happiness

That is what brings us happiness

If one’s capacity is to serve 100 and one limits to serve oneself they are not giving full chance to one’s potential

Because of ones own lack of vision and openness

Giving birth to one’s own good nature

Happiness is deep satisfaction, helping many others changing surroundings of your life and existence

Potential gives birth to ones appropriate outreach more and more freedom inside, sense of peace

Mental disturbance is true dharma and virtue is to serve others, searching as oneself to be happy

So what is adharm as a sentient we would want to be free from pain

Other human beings understand each other through signs

Know of others experience, all beings free from suffering

We are no different from sentient beings therefore not to do harm to others, causes pain to others is a virtue

If one causes pain to others that is violent it is unjust because one who does not want pain wishes to be happy

Adharm sows negative seeds

Nonvirtue should be avoided based on this reasoning based on reasoning which is irrefutable

Self reflection, contemplative, examining ones own mind

Positive do that positive thing

Take yourself as an example do not harm others or accumulate unwholesome acts shun away from it do accumulate helpful, wholesome acts

Stay away from passion, ignorance, jealousy, pride

Accumulate wholesome acts, engage in compassionate acts

Naturally tame ones mind and this is where you find freedom

Restraining from negative acts and engaging in positive acts, how you feel this wish for happiness, how you connect with that personally

Working for happiness without knowing what you are working for isn’t good

Wish for ALL beings to be happy

Enjoy happiness of others as if it is your happiness, be happy within, no trace of jealousy, spread this to all wish them more happiness

Space has no boundaries, unlimited

Practice of four immeasurables, higher birth in next life

Vegetarianism is right, meat is wrong

Confusion we live in today still doesn’t alter truth

Simple teachings from head to heart

Teachings accessibility for people from different socio economic status

Feel sympathy for their pain or hurt

Karmapa Talk Notes May 13th

On his way abroad for the first time, busy with preparation for that trip. Only 21. Unprepared to give a talk so talks from his feelings and experiences which is more sensible and natural. Embrace things that are worthwhile and things that are not worthwhile leave them aside

Talk on impermanence…in thinking about and talking about impermanence there is nothing to talk about it is what is happening around us all the time

2008 just began drastic changes illustrate impermanence, tremendous increase in basic needs (food prices), fluctuation in economics are expressions in the truth of change, china earthquake cyclone in Myanmar

expression and realities make us all feel anxiety and anxiousness. Knowing everything is impermanent, clinging to the illusion of the absence of impermanence

go hand in hand along with impermanence, unpredictability impermanent, luxury be ahead of impermanence

Tibet political situation is very critical and unexpected, participated in march 10th ceremony

Ones mind is not prepared to accommodate what is really happening, one’s mind is really involved multitude of ways impermanence occurs

Unpredictability, mind lost in own state of chlostrophoby

One must take interest in values of impermanence and be prepared for unpredictability

It is not easy….in Tibet unauspicious way of thinking if you entertain thoughts of death…does not serve as preparation

Preparation for impermanence is not clairvoyance

Every day ordinary life we constantly face impermanence and develop different understandings, prepare to handle impermanence in a constructive way

As we live our lives we live by habitual fixation of permanence of things and need to address how we fabricate illusion of permanence…practical and relative reality of building a house. Illusion on the preciousness of the house is unrealistic, hope beyond what the house is made move, house of permanence, house lasts beyond. What one forgets is what one is preparing for and what wealth and houses become more valuable than life in it is built

The preciousness of life is diminished with the illusion of permanence

Plans contingent to the reality of impermanence

Indulging in illusion of impermanence breeds laziness, action

Distorted fixation of clinging and grasping to the point of unreasonability and one sidedness

Each thing has two sides, peripheral view of both sides

Illusion of permanence, impermanence occurs everywhere irrespectively

Death occurs every moment of one’s life

Truth of impermanence and inevitability of death accept both sides with confidence

Wisdom within us is our true nature, over come ignorance

Clouds analogy. Sun is clouded, cloud veiled sun but to the sun the cloud does not veil it. In the same vain conditioning veils our wisdom. Day time is light, night time is dark if your fixation say time can be dark and you can only see the darkness of daylight and darkness of night pursue the morning of the light

Relative reality, real meaning of the darkness of the day

To be more aware of impermanence in each day you can see how you born and die each day, every  morning you are born

Saying we are impermanent does not mean we give up because of impermanence

Impermanence is not a philosophical concept, it is reality illusion fail to take into account truth

All phenomenon is subject to impermanence, cyclone , earthquake

Unwise to say these are natural scale and these things are too big and there is nothing we can do

People made solemn resolve to benefit each and every being then not acting would go against that

Those who can make a difference for others

Maintain resolve and watch active expressions of those resolves, decrease degree of pain

Don’t feel burdened or handicapped by impermanence, not crippling affect

Terrible things are impermanent but so are good things

Having ignorance about the realities of things bring one even more suffering, positive attitudes to practical solutions not fixated

 

 

